Songs from the Unknown

You all know I’m a sucker for anything music, so when I found this linkup last night while I was noshing and nomming on my Chinese food, I was all Let’s do this, iTunes!

Elizabeth over at Southern Finesse started a series called “Songs from the Unknown,” which takes a look at her favorite songs that most people don’t know about. You know, those songs that you fall in love with on an album you were typically brought to by a hit single. The songs a lot of other people haven’t necessarily heard of (unless they’re audiophiles like me) because they’re not on the radio. Cool concept, no? I’m always favoriting, playlist-ing, putting on repeat individual songs that don’t get nearly enough love, and they’re usually the songs I tell people they OMG have to listen to because they’re just so blow-your-mind good.

I could literally fill pages with great songs you’ve never heard of, but I’ll stick to 10. This week. Admittedly, I’m not big on lyrics – aka, lyrics are never the reason my favorite songs are my favorite songs – but I’ll include my favorite line for each track because why not.

If you already know some of these, great, let’s be friends. If you don’t, don’t come back until you do.

This song has such a go-get-em, in-your-face vibe it’s hard not to feel pumped and energized and inspired.
Best line: “Rather be a starving artist than succeed at getting fucked”

I love me a good duet, especially one backed by a great piano-beat buildup.
Best line: “Head out any further and you might just forget how”

Adele is just as lovely acoustic, isn’t she? And knowing this song came at the end of her biggest breakup album was such a sweet finish.
Best line: “Look how you want me now that I don’t need you”

Sad songs really are the best. Especially when they leave you feeling even sadder and more empty than before you listened to them. What’s that about?
Best line: “Some things you can’t go back to ’cause you let them slip away”

Mmm, that crescendo intro and those background vocals.
Best line: “Before we were lovers, I swear we were friends”

The upbeat nature of this song is misleading. It’s actually such a good move-on-after-a-breakup song.
Best line: “And in a parallel universe, it’s me you can’t resist”

This song makes me want to fight in an epic battle.
Best line: “And although I was losing my mind, it was a chorus so sublime”

Feel that bass. Also love that it incorporates an old Nina Simone cover of Billie Holiday’s “Strange Fruit.”
Best line: I’m at a loss here…I don’t like any of the lyrics.

This song makes me a little randy.
Best line: “God nor the devil alone could have made you up, the two must have worked as one together”

What can I say, Ke$ha knows her way around a dirty I-do-what-I-want, let’s-get-this-party-started number.
Best line: “Gonna take you for a freedom ride”

2 thoughts on “Songs from the Unknown

  1. Fantastic picks! I love that you have a wide range of genres on here. I’ll admit I didn’t know some of these bands so I checked them out. They are officially on my Spotify/radar.

    Thanks for linking up!

Whatd'ya think?

