I’m Thankful For

thankful Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. Yes, even over Christmas. It’s my single favorite meal of the year (I once asked for the entire to-do for my birthday dinner) that nearly my entire family enjoys in my dining room. This year we are doing something different and not hosting, instead staying home just the four of us. Gotta switch it up now and again, right? We’re still cooking the full meal (there better be leftovers when I get back from Michigan), but we’ll also be relaxing in our jammies, maybe breaking out some board games, watching movies, letting the little brother dog lick our plates clean, and having seconds of dessert because we won’t need to worry about saving enough for everyone else.

One thing none of us does enough is recognize the good in our lives and acknowledge what we are (or should be) thankful for.

  1. I would like to start by thanking the universe for Jennifer Lawrence’s existence. I’d miss her even if I’d never heard of her and I simply don’t know what I’d do without her adorableness ——fdagjdsalkgj let me love you
  2. I’m also thankful for Chris Hemsworth (less thankful that his wife is pregnant with their second child) because he really is a god among men. chris hemsworth
  3. I’m thankful for good covers [see 1, 2, & 3], and I’ll go ahead and say I’m thankful for great vocalists and musicians that exist in much of the mess of today.
  4. I’m thankful for candied yams that will make up a good 59% of my Thanksgiving plate. eating3
  5. I’m thankful for Netflix, for obvious reasons, not least of which is the judge-free safe zone they’ve fostered for many years now.
  6. Scheduling a flight on Black Friday so that I don’t have to deal with the crazies launching themselves at deals in Target. no
  7. I’m thankful that I’m not studying for finals or BS’ing my way through schoolwork for the first time in 18 years. homework
  8. I’m thankful that videos of babies and baby animals exist [see 1, 2, & 3], especially, especially when they’re friends with each other.
  9. I’m thankful the classes I take at the gym are mostly filled with 50-year-olds so I look particularly adept, unlike how I look on the treadmill. treadmill

So go on and appreciate the wonderful things in your life this Thursday, eh? It’s all too frequent that we forget to stop and notice the good that’s smacking us across the face.

Whatd'ya think?

