5 Things I’d Rather Do Than Halloween

I’m linking up with Erin from Living in Yellow (linkups are still new to me and I get really excited when I find one I want to join) because her alternative Halloween list is my kind of post. Halloween is at its best when I can observe clever costumes and heckle trick-or-treaters from the sidelines, not endure slutty nurses (an homage to the awesome Blink 182 album, but a disgrace to the real profession, people!) or sexy witches (do not exist.) stomping around in their hooker heels.

slutty Halloween

All in all, I usually prefer to stay in and pass out candy to the kiddies (which I finally get to do tonight for the first time) instead of stomaching some green jungle juice with floating eyeballs. Read on for the top 5 things I’d rather do than celebrate Halloween.

1. Sit on the floor and eat candy
This activity is not as Halloween-centric as the parents of the world might like us to think, so just because Nestle sees a spike in their candy production/consumption this time of year doesn’t mean I can’t indulge as if it were any other Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday night.

sick candy

2. Watch Amanda Bynes pre-crazy
Ever since re-watching She’s The Man recently (forgot how outstanding that movie is), I’ve been on an Amanda kick that just won’t quit. I downloaded all four seasons of What I Like About You (highly underrated) and started looking up YouTube clips of her glory days as Judge Judy with the dancing lobsters.

3. Online shop
More specifically, continue to bookmark beautiful coats that I can’t afford in preparation for my Paris trip (more news on that later!!) this coming winter. I have been on the hunt for a great cocoon coat, cape, wool peacoat, trench, something grey/salt & pepper/burgundy that goes past my knees and has a wide but not obnoxious collar. And under $100 would be perfect, thanks. Please send all gifts that fit these criteria to… just kidding.

Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 11.19.41 AMScreen Shot 2013-10-31 at 11.22.51 AM

4. Sit on a beach at sunset
This is more of an all-the-time, rather-be-doing-this thing.

5. Look up unique twists to my favorite Thanksgiving recipes
Forget Halloween, I’m ready to fast forward to Thanksgiving (and not just because I’m flying to Michigan the day after and not just because of the candied yams…well, maybe). Even though a number of my kin won’t be able to make it this year (every year both my dad’s side and mom’s side pile into our dining room to share in the festivities; it’s the most wonderful time of the year), I’m still looking forward to breaking turkey bread with the crazies I like to call family. I always find really extravagant side dishes or appetizers or place settings I pretend I’m going to make, and then disregard those and go ahead and make the original dish anyway because nobody likes change and you don’t mess with the best.

Screen Shot 2013-10-31 at 12.31.55 PM

One thought on “5 Things I’d Rather Do Than Halloween

  1. Can we change your #1 to say, “Sit on the floor and eat candy…but not gain one ounce a fat in the process”?
    Not a fan of Halloween here either…but the kids like it, so I must pretend to for one night…

Whatd'ya think?

